Psalms 139 | Song I Wrote

“For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb.” – Psalm 139:13

“Lord take my reins and Lead me where my mind cannot see” – Lord Take My Reins my original song.

Psalms 139 is very close to my heart. A few years back I felt to pray this psalm. So I got my journal out and wrote down a prayer based on this entire Psalm. When I got done I stepped back and looked at it and I felt God show me a verse 1 and a verse 2. And then those verses happened to fit perfectly with a Chorus I had already wrote.

It was a crazy experience where it was no doubt in my mind that God gave me this song. This song has now become an anchor in my life since the day I wrote it and I hope it can speak to you as well today.

Sometimes when you ask God to Take the reins of your life He may lead you down paths you don’t want to go.

This was confirmed when recently when I heard Sister Kenna Loyd teach about finding your purpose and will of God for your life. She mentioned how there are 2 different seasons you can expect to experience. The seasons of Waiting and the Seasons of Pain.

“You see my future. You are the Light. When darkness envelopes my life, you see through the allusions. Lord take my reins and lead me where my mind can not see. You never fail me though I fail you. You always welcome me safe beneath Your wings.” – My song.

I’ve been through both seasons since writing this song. I’ve failed many times but the Lord has never failed me once. I’m starting to see a bit clearer after many months of confusion and darkness. I see now it was all for a purpose to lead me to a new path.

“If I say surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.” – Psam 139:11-12

I hope this song encourages you guys to Keep trusting the Lord to lead you down paths you can’t see so you can find your purpose and calling in God! To ignite a prayer in your heart to say “Lord Take My Reins”.

Leave a comment